While your main account and sub accounts are better suited for short-term monitoring of your log data, they’re not really a cost-effective way to view long-term patterns and trends. That’s where timeless accounts come in.

Timeless accounts work with optimizers, allowing you to save a subset of your logs for as long as you need them. You can store key metrics that you want to track in your timeless accounts. Each timeless account contains its own Elasticsearch index, which you can search from your main account.

Timeless accounts

To create or manage a timeless account

Select or add a timeless account

In the Timeless account plan panel, click the timeless account you want to manage, or click Add timeless account.

Manage a timeless account

Adjust account volume

If you need to adjust the Timeless account volume, type in the text box or use and .

Your plan allows for a maximum data volume. Keep this limit in mind when you allocate resources to your timeless accounts—you won’t be able to exceed the limits of your plan.

Contact your Logz.io account manager if you need to increase your plan limits.

Set search permissions

If you want your sub accounts to be able to search this account, add the intended accounts to the Read & write permissions box.

Save your changes

Click Apply to save your changes.

To clean a timeless account

Find your timeless account plan

Log into your Logz.io account, navigate to Manage accounts, and find your timeless account plan.

Timeless account plan

Choose the relevant account

Click on the account you’d like to clean. Then, in the dropdown menu, you’ll be able to review the account’s data usage.

Timeless account plan expanded

Clean the data

Click on the Clean button to open a popup with additional options. You can decide what log data to delete from your timeless account in this popup. Select the date range in which you’d like to clean the data. You can also select specific optimizers to clean. Next, click on Continue.

Clean timeless data

Confirm the clean

The final confirmation window summarizes how many log messages will be deleted in this process. This process might take a few minutes, depending on the number of log messages, and is irreversible. To confirm, click on the Yes, please clean my account button.

Timeless account plan expanded